Adrian Blevins

Adrian Blevins
Poet Pick
1 Jesus Saves 01:51

Adrian Blevins is the author of three collections of poetry: Appalachians Run Amok (Two Sylvias Press, 2018), winner of the 2016 Wilder Prize; Live from the Homesick Jamboree (Wesleyan University Press, 2009); and The Brass Girl Brouhaha (Ausable Press, 2003), winner of the 2004 Kate Tufts Discovery Award. Blevins is also the recipient of a Rona Jaffe Writers’ Foundation Award for poetry, the Lamar York Prize for Nonfiction, and a Bright Hill Press chapbook award for The Man Who Went Out for Cigarettes (Bright Hill Press, 1996). Her poems and essays have appeared in The Utne Reader, The Southern Review, The Massachusetts Review, Drunken Boat,, Poetry, and many other magazines and journals. In fall 2015, Ohio University Press published an anthology of essays she co-edited with Karen Salver McElmurray, Walk Till the Dogs Get Mean: Meditations on the Forbidden from Contemporary Appalachia. She teaches at Colby College in Waterville, Maine.

First posted: May 27, 2005

Last modified: June 21, 2018