Adrian Matejka

Adrian Matejka
Poet Pick
1 Understanding Al Green 02:05

Adrian Matejka is the author of four collections of poetry, most recently, Map t0 the Stars (Penguin, 2017). His third book, The Big Smoke (Penguin, 2013), won the 2014 Anisfield-Wolf Book Award, and was a finalist for both the 2014 Pulitzer Prize in Poetry and the 2013 National Book Award in Poetry and. His second collection, Mixology (Penguin, 2009), was a winner of the 2008 National Poetry Series and Mixology was subsequently nominated for an NAACP Image Award. His first book, The Devil’s Garden, won the 2002 Kinereth Gensler Award from Alice James Books. He is the recipient of two Illinois Arts Council Literary Awards and fellowships from Cave Canem and the Lannan Foundation. His work has been featured in American Poetry Review, The Best American Poetry 2010, and Ploughshares, among other journals and anthologies. He teaches creative writing at Indiana University in Bloomington.

First posted: February 18, 2005

Last modified: April 3, 2018