Sandra Beasley

Sandra Beasley
Poet Pick
1 Cherry Tomatoes 01:12

Sandra Beasley is the author of three collections of poetry: Count the Waves (W.W. Norton, 2015); I Was the Jukebox, (W.W. Norton, 2010), selected by Joy Harjo for the 2009 Barnard Women Poets Prize; and Theories of Falling (New Issues, 2008), which won the 2007 New Issues Poetry Prize judged by Marie Howe. Her poetry has appeared in PoetrySlate, and The Believer, and was chosen for The Best American Poetry 2010. She is also author of of a memoir, Don’t Kill the Birthday Girl: Tales From an Allergic Life (Penguin, 2011), which doubles as a cultural history of food allergy. Her prose has appeared in The Oxford American, the Washington Post Magazine, and The New York Times. Honors for her work include the 2010 University of Mississippi Summer Poet in Residence, a DCCAH Individual Artist Fellowship, the Friends of Literature Prize from the Poetry Foundation, and the Maureen Egen Exchange Award from Poets & Writers. She teaches with the University of Tampa’s low-residency MFA program and keeps the blog, Chicks Dig Poetry.

First posted: August 1, 2010

Last modified: May 5, 2018